Ghost Stories

re4sejc7hs-1

Hey Friend!

How are ya?? How is it that we are nearly at October’s doorstep? How is it that I haven’t written here in forever? Promise me one thing, okay guys? Promise me that you’ll come and steal all of the Diet Cokes in my fridge if I take that long to write again. Okay? Okay.

I seriously hope that while I have been slacking, you have been kicking butt. In your business. In your art. In your workouts. Just in whatever it is you do.

A few days ago while I was not writing, ahem, I was watching one of my favorite creepy shows, Unsolved Mysteries. While I claim to be a semi adult, there are still segments of that show that I’d rather not watch alone. This episode dealt with a haunted bed and breakfast. There are reports of at least 5 ghosts that hang around there.

In the days after my dad passed away, I would dream about him. We’d be sitting at the dinner table laughing and joking, and I’d look at him and say “Dad, you aren’t here.” And he’d smile at me and say “I know.” If I stopped in a certain spot in the hallway I could smell his green Polo cologne.

Let me clarify something here. I do not believe in ghosts. I don’t believe you go to a holding place when you die, and have to fulfill some sort of special deed to get to go to the light. But you know what? When my dad passed away, memories of every single time I told him I was too busy to help, visit, or just play a simple game of checkers with him, absolutely freaking killed me. My heart hurt when I thought about it.

Regrets. That’s what this post is about. Those thing left undone, those memories we refuse to let go of, those are the ghosts I speak of tonight. Our brains are funny things. They will hang on to something even if it hurts us. It will remind us of those things at the worst possible times. But you know what? It may just be time to let go.

I know my dad would not want me to remember the bad times when I think of him. He’d rather I remember the times he made me french fries, and we talked about how he danced in the 50s. My point is, who are we really hurting by hanging on to those old, bad memories? No one but ourselves.

I don’t have a special prescription on how to this. For me, prayer and handing them over to God helps. Playing one of my dads’ favorite songs helps. Reminding myself that I’m human, and I am allowed to make mistakes helps.

Maybe it’s time you let your ghosts go. Let them leave and go on to the light. Let the bad memories be replaced by good ones. Let the past become the past. Don’t look back, just keeping going forward.One step at a time.

Well, that’s my two cents tonight. Keep on rolling friends, and please save me at least one Diet Coke.

Blessings and peace,

Helen

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Goals, inspiration, Just Me, Lesson from the everyday, Let It Go, Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment