Curses, Curses

3ZT9TZDRTB (1).jpg

Good Day,

How’s your Wednesday? Hopefully you’re out changing the world already!! It’s been a day or two since I’ve talked to you! I promise tomorrow you’ll get a nice juicy update. Well maybe not juicy, but at least a little flavored.

Speaking of flavored, and speaking of speaking, I wanted to talk to you about cursing. I have never pretended to be a perfect Christian, I am very much a work in progress. One of the battles I fight a lot is keeping my mouth clean. My thoughts though, are routinely punctuated by four letter words.

Having grown up with a mom who thought and still thinks, the word “butt” was/is a curse word, you wouldn’t think I’d have this problem. Say butt in front of her, and you will not only get “the eye,” but a lecture on how the appropriate word to use is bottom. Hiney is also acceptable. And don’t even think about using the word a– around her!!

My brother, who is now a pastor, and I used to cuss horribly when we got mad at each other as teenagers. I mean using ALL of the words. I’m not even sure where we got the words we hurled at each other, but we somehow had them in our arsenal. When we started following God, he lost all of those words, I of course did not.

My first experience with a curse word was at my sisters house. Some of the adults were sitting on the porch, and one man was talking about his ex wife. I still recall him looking around before he called her a bi—. I’m not sure what he was looking for, but it certainly wasn’t to see if any minors were present.

Now it is acceptable to curse even in front of kids. The first time I heard my four year old nephew say sh–, was an unpleasant, yet not unexpected experience. Being a babysitter,  I have heard a few other kids say some “off color” things.

I heard Pastor Robert Morris talk about cussing once. He mentioned that when you curse or damn things or people that you are actually damning and cursing them. So if you say “this damn car,” don’t expect your car to run right because you are cursing it. Which I have to admit I hadn’t thought of cussing that way before he said that.

Proverbs 18:21: Words kill, words give life; they’re either poison or fruit—you choose.

 Watch the way you talk. Let nothing foul or dirty come out of your mouth. Say only what helps, each word a gift.– Ephesians 4:29

According to these verses, I have a long ways to go.Something for me to work on, because if we were all perfect, we wouldn’t need Jesus.

I have to say I’ve also gotten pretty adept at “Christian cussing.” Substituting a word like crap, when I really mean, well you know. I think that might just be as bad. So if you here me say “ever lovin’ crap monkey,” you’ll know what I mean. I mean hiney Mom, I mean hiney.

Well save me a Diet Coke friend, and keep on rolling!! Blessings and Peace,

Helen

 

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Faith, Just Me, Me and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment