Who Left Us In Charge?

ERXXBAHYV4

Hey There,

Here we are at the beginning of a new week. I sincerely hope you are taking steps to change your corner of the world. Even if it’s just  you getting up of the couch and walking around your block. Or smiling at people in line with you at the grocery store. Or following your long lost dream.

It’s been a hard, devastating, crazy, horrific weekend, hasn’t it?! Well if it hasn’t for you, it was for me. I cannot wrap my head around what happened in Orlando. I can not fathom that 50 people who were laughing, hurting, breathing, being one minute, were not the next.

And to tell you the truth, it disappointed me that some fellow Christians shied away from mentioning it, because of where the attack happened. I don’t care if they were gay, straight, black, brown, white, pink, or purple, no one deserves to die like that.

I started thinking about something today. Who left us in charge? Who decided that we were grown up enough to handle this world and it’s responsibilities? For example, I am babysitting 6 kids this Summer. Who exactly decided that I was mature enough to handle that? I mean I barely follow through on stuff I set out to do. Yet I have babysat for over 20+ kids in the last 14 years.

I once read a meme that said something about realizing an “adult needed to handle a situation, realizing you are an adult, and then looking around for an adult-ier adult.”Who decided that at 16, you could get behind the wheel of a two ton vehicle, and be responsible for not killing anyone with it. Who decided that at 18, you were old enough to serve your country? Who decided that at 21, you’d be cool to have a few drinks in you, and also to go vote? Who got to decide all that? Did they make the right call? I don’t think we’ll ever know.

But if there’s one thing I do know is that Jesus has left us in charge of making disciples for Him:

Jesus, undeterred, went right ahead and gave his charge: “God authorized and commanded me to commission you: Go out and train everyone you meet, far and near, in this way of life, marking them by baptism in the threefold name: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Then instruct them in the practice of all I have commanded you. I’ll be with you as you do this, day after day after day, right up to the end of the age.”

I don’t believe that He meant we should do that by fear, rudeness, name calling, protests,  or beating people into submission. One of my favorite pastors Pete Wilson always says people who were least like Jesus, liked Jesus. They’d just hang out with them.

And yes, He taught them the truth, but they sought Him out to listen to Him. We were told to be salt and flavor the world, not to be salty and rub it in their open wounds. When the last time someone sat and listened to us, just because they knew we knew Jesus?

Like I said earlier, it’s just something I was thinking about…..

Well save me a Diet Coke friend, and keep on rolling!!  Blessings and Peace,

Helen

 

 

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Just Me, Lesson from the everyday, Love, Me, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment