Don’t Listen, Linda

AB0U289SNW.jpg

Hey There,

How you doing? Yaay for you surviving Tuesday!! Is it only Tuesday?! Has it not been the longest most Monday-ish Tuesday in a long while? Goodness!

I’m a little embarrassed to tell how clever I think I am about this post’s title. I tried to get different combinations of the words hear, listen, and story to work, but alas and alack (what the heck does alack even mean?), this is the kind of humor in writing that I strive for. You’re welcome.

This past weekend, I was privileged to attend a ministers conference. My mom and brother are both ministers, and one of my favorite moments is when they linked hands with each other, and 14 other ministers, and prayed for each other. Very, very cool!!

My brother and his wife live out of town so during the conference, they got a room at one of our local hotels. They invited me to come spend the night with them. After we had gone swimming, and while I was waiting to change, a tweet popped up on my phone from one of my favorite Twitter peeps. He was joking around with a favorite singer of mine, and I though “wait, I can so join in on this conversation, and make another joke.” I typed it up, laughed in my head. But right before I hit send, it happened.

It, being that little voice in your head that says, “they don’t care about anything you have to say. You’ll just sound stupid.” These tweeters are what I would consider power tweeters, and for a second or two, I considered listening to that voice. Do you know what I did? I sent the tweet.

Nobody liked it, the other two tweeters didn’t even acknowledge it. But I had won. A small victory, but a victory none the less. You have that little voice in your head too. “Don’t write that post, no one will read it.” “Don’t tell that joke, no one’s going to think it’s funny.” “No body will even look at that painting.” That voice says all those things and more.

But you have to do something, not for me, but for you. You have to tell that voice to shut up! You have to do things anyway. Maybe no one will read your first blog post, but you will have written it. And then you’ll write another the next day, and then another, and…. That voice will probably never go away, but you will be able to turn down its volume over time.

You and you alone know the stories, dreams, and talents that are inside of you. And guess what? The rest of us would like to meet them. But the only way we can is for you to introduce them to us. Ignore that fear, and do it anyways. Don’t listen, Linda.

 

And for anyone who doesn’t know where “listen Linda” came from:

 

Save me a Diet Coke, and keep on rolling (stole that from Keith Harkin)! Blessings and peace!

Helen

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in inspiration, Lesson from the everyday, Pep Talks, Twitter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

