Music, Love And A Whole Lot Of Jesus

IMG_1930

Hello,

I sincerely hope you are having a great day! For some reason on Thursday evenings, I get all excited thinking it’s Friday. And then I have to remind myself, nope, you have one more day. Uno mas dia. Bet you didn’t know this was an educational bilingual blog, did ya? Well me either, because that’s all I’ve got, lol.

Once again, I listened to Neil Byrne’s Pale Blue Jak album last night. On it he does a cover of Bruno Mars ‘Grenade.’ He truly does a great job with it. The classical music styling and  strings behind his smooth voice are beautiful.  Now as a writer, I usually have a word, phrase, or  lyric that bounces around in my head for a day or two. Today’s head phrase came from that song.

Neil sings this line:”Tell the devil I said ‘hey’ when you get back where you are from.” And I thought, “yes!” What a perfect insult!! I have a few people in mind to whom I would love to walk up and say that.

About a year and a half ago, someone I am really close to started dealing with nasty rumors that had been started by people we all used to be friends with. Close friends. And it pissed me off. And in my head, I ran down every scenario that I could think of to cause those other people pain. And that line would be perfect. But I can’t say it to them.

No, not because I’m religious. But yes, because I follow Jesus. If I’m going to claim Him, then I absolutely should have something in my life to back that up. You see, I’m not even remotely a nice person without Jesus. Most people have that slight degree of goodness that stops them from being too horrible. You can ask my family, they’ll tell you. I’m not a good person. I do serve a good Savior.

One of my favorite singers-speakers Rich Mullins has a quote that says:

“Tonight, not only do I find this world frightening. I am frightened of myself. I am frightened of the evil that I am capable of. I am frightened of that which You (I believe) would deliver me from, and yet I will won’t let go. Help me to let go, Lord. ‘Deliver us from evil…’ You taught us to pray. Maybe this fear is part of the lesson. Deliver us from evil – from moral duplicity and weakness, from laziness and spiritual complacency, from those lies we tell ourselves from our fear of facing the truth. I think, Lord, that we’re all afraid of werewolves -not afraid of being destroyed by one – afraid of being one.” — Rich Mullins

The fact is that Jesus IS love. The fact also is that I am not. However, Jesus is love like we think of love though, as a currency to only be spent on those we deem worthy. But true love. The love that would make Him look down from a cross, see people mocking Him, and still ask God to forgive them. I have a hard time forgiving someone who’s been rude to me.

I’m not even close to being near where Jesus is in love. I could sit here and fake it though. See, you only see the face I want to show you. I can be a great pretender. Or I can pull off the mask, and tell you that I don’t have this life figured out yet, either. I never want to be one of those people who won’t listen to anyone. Because that’s when you get into trouble.

I also believe that Jesus loves me too much to just leave me in my junk. I believe He came to save me out of my own crap. The rules I place on myself, the right living I try to carry out in my own power, can’t hold a candle to His righteousness.

 Christ arrives right on time to make this happen. He didn’t, and doesn’t, wait for us to get ready. He presented himself for this sacrificial death when we were far too weak and rebellious to do anything to get ourselves ready. And even if we hadn’t been so weak, we wouldn’t have known what to do anyway. We can understand someone dying for a person worth dying for, and we can understand how someone good and noble could inspire us to selfless sacrifice. But God put his love on the line for us by offering his Son in sacrificial death while we were of no use whatever to him. Romans 5:6-8

Now, you can believe in Him or not. He still loves you. I still love Him. I’ll still keep trying to show that love that He showed me. I can’t treat this relationship with Him as a game. I can’t just drop Him, and pick Him up at will. He shows me unimaginable love. I have to pay that forward!!

(Also as a bonus, after getting distracted by his and Ryan Kelly’s latest tour’s Q&As’, I found the video of Neil singing Grenade.)

You got me all a Twitter or you can Like It Like That.

Well, save me a Diet Coke my friend. I’ll bring the peanut M&Ms. I’ll see you on the flip side,

Helen

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Faith, Lesson from the everyday, Love, Music, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

