Untitled Work

FullSizeRender (33)

Howdy!

I feel like a young John Cusack, like making big mistakes. I feel like for the first time in a long time I am not afraid. I feel like a kid, never thought it’d feel like this. — Ben Rector 

Okay it’s almost Wednesday of this week guys, so I hope you’re well on your way to shaking things up, and making a difference in your life. You don’t have to wait until you get off of work on Friday, or 5:00 am on Monday morning. You can start now.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading on this subject. And all of the experts in this area agree on one thing. I’m going to tell you what that is, okay? Here it is, the big secret, el grande burrito (okay that one doesn’t really make sense), YOU JUST HAVE TO START!!

Tomorrow I’ll share my story on how this happened to me. Also known as how I got off my hiney, and started doing something with my life. But today I just wanted to give you an idea. It’s not mine originally, and I probably won’t be the only one to tell you about this. It is however, what worked for moi.

Grab a notebook, or open up a note or text document on your phone or computer. And start writing about whatever. I call them my ‘throw up (gross)” writing pages. Because I just basically vomit whatever is in my head at that time on to a page. Whether it’s the fact that I need to watch less TV to a new Dr’s appointment I had made, it’s on those pages.

This following is one such paragraph that I had written in one of my “throw up”pages. I left the misspellings, so you could see that it’s pretty much anything goes:

 “Ever lovin’. That’s my new not a cuss word, cuss word. It used to be graham crackers, but that has had it’s run. Baby food is gross. I tried to eat some once, okay today. But it seems flavorless, or one dimensional flavored. Like spaghettios. They taste very tomatoe-y. Babies need flavors too. Why arent more people protesting this?”

As you can see, besides the fact that my writing needs quite a bit of editing, my mind definitely wanders. And that’s perfectly fine. No one else is going to see those pages, unless you want them to. It’s just you getting your muddled thoughts down on paper.

This is different from journaling. It’s not at all edited. You can write your favorite song lyrics, a story tittle, or a pargarph.  You can even write your grocery list down. This is just an exercise to get your creative juices (again gross) going.

Well, that is the first physical step that I took to change, and turn my life around. I hope it helps you too!! Let me know if it does, okay?

Save me a Diet Coke my friend, and I’ll see you on the flip side,

Helen

Tweet at your girl, or follow me (but not in a creepy way) on FB.

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in dreams, Ideas, inspiration, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

