1 and 1 Make 2 They Say, Or Maybe That Was 4

FullSizeRender (29)

“One and one make two they say, or maybe that was four. I’m so confused about everything, I don’t know anymore.”– Ryan Kelly

Good morning! I hope you had a great weekend!

It’s raining here in the metropolis, and I find that I am very much a pluviophile. This weather also makes me want to take a nap, but I have found that it’s harder to get work done while you’re sleeping.

I have to share this with you! This Saturday, I got to see my sweet niece get engaged!! Our entire family has known that this proposal was coming for about a month now, and it’s been so hard to not say anything in front of her. Argh! I can keep my mouth shut when I need to, but man, this one was hard!!

On Sunday morning, I had one of my children’s church kids call me out on a mistake I made in teaching the Bible lesson. We had just finished a series on the prophets Elijah and Elisha. On Easter, of course, we started the story of Jesus going to the cross. But because it was so crazy then, we were only able to do about five minutes of our lesson.

Anyways, yesterday I was talking about the mount of transfiguration, and how Peter, James, and John were the only ones that got to see Moses and Elijah come back from the dead, and talk to Jesus. One of my little students pops up immediately and says “well actually Elijah didn’t die, God took him to heaven. I was thinking, “dang it, he’s right.”

I love that he was listening, and I love the fact that he felt sure enough in what he knew to call me on it. I love, love, love that we are raising kid now a days who are comfortable with questioning things. Not in a disrespectful way, but they just know what they know, or  want to know why things are so.

Having been one of those kids, I hated getting the standard “because I said so” answer from my mom. I understand it now though, because my parents are from a completely different generation. When they were kids, you didn’t question anything. An adult told you to do something, or a person in authority told you a thing was a certain way, and that’s just the way it was. But somewhere in the late 50’s, that dynamic started to change. And I’m sure it must have looked like mass rebellion to parents.

We are born with with that inherent curiosity, a need to find out things for ourselves. To gather all of the facts available, and make our own plans and decisions. I’ve seen young  people led astray by blindly following someone else and doing what they say, instead of forming their own opinions.

Whether it’s a belief system, or a important decision, I’d rather it be my choice, and it be cemented in my heart, than basing my convictions on what so and so said we were supposed to do. To me, it’s not about mistrust in an authority figure, it’s just I need to know that I know that I know. That’s why I choose to believe in Jesus. It’s my faith, and I can explain it to you myself, without needing my pastor beside me coaching me on what to say.

One of my main goals in regard to this next generation, is to always explain the why’s to them. Someday when we’re not around anymore, they will need to be able to stand on their own two feet anyways, and they will need to know the reasons for why they do what they do.

For example, in my family, I love to watch when my twenty two year old nephew comes over to help my parents with their never ending (they’ve been working on it for almost 2 years) barn project. It’s so cool to see him come up with ideas and plans of his own, and to see my parents listen to him, and take his advice. Sometimes when they learn and figure things out for themselves, the kids’ are alright ;).

Well save me a Diet Coke my friend, and I’ll see you on the flip side,

Helen

 

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Faith, Just Me, Lesson from the everyday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

