Get My Rest In Another Lifetime

Bc6nH8VCIAAlsmM

“I’ve a heart that’s in a million pieces, got a soul and he’s threatening to leave me, he said he’s on a runaway train from me. I’ll get my rest in another lifetime, and make it up to him. My feet are runnin’ a million miles ahead of me…” Keith Harkin 

Hola,

Well how are you today? It was a very pretty day here in the Metropolis. The kind song writers talk about meeting their sweethearts on, and story writers can’t wait to write a storm into. I got up this morning fully intending to write after my babies laid down for their morning nap.  But…. the yard was dirty. And the mowers are coming in around nine days, so obviously the yard needed cleaned today!!

While outside, I got to dismantle a box springs. Which was fun, because I felt all HGTV-ish (I’m available to help you out with demo, Chip and Joanna!) and also because I kinda like tearing crap up. We have two loads ready to go to the scrap yard and the trash dump.

IMG_2561 IMG_2562

After clearing the yard, and helping with the never ending barn project, I came into the Heard Camper to relax. I’m not going to lie here, I seriously thought about taking the night off. I thought I could just lie there, watching I Love Lucy for the rest of the night, and no one would be the wiser. And a while ago, like around last month, that would have worked on me. I would have given in and agreed that since I had walked for the last week, I deserved a day of rest. I would have been wrong.

You see, that kind of thinking is what has gotten a lot of us into the situations we are in now. We think we can stop working for dream or goals just because we “deserve” some time off, or we worked at it yesterday. But the truth is that we will not achieve anything without consistency. We know this truth, we read this truth, but it doesn’t sink in.

That writer we admire, the one that has sold thousands of books, started at a blank page. That movie star we want to be like, the one who can pack a theater on his name alone, was  turned down for the first few jobs for which he auditioned. That rock star, the one we can’t get enough of, has been singing and playing the guitar since he was seven.

The one main characteristic we see in truly successful people, not posers, but the ones who will leave a lasting legacy,  is their perseverance. They keep going even when life get’s hard. That doesn’t mean they don’t take the time to rest, grieve, or cry for a bit. But they don’t let it keep them down. They don’t allow themselves to be sidetracked by minor details.

Sometimes we get discouraged going it alone, and just need a friend to come along and say hey, you’re doing great!! Keep going! Well consider me that friend! I don’t know exaclty what you’re going through, but I know if you have a dream, you should go after it. You only get this one life, you know. You also have The Best Friend ever who is waiting to hear from you tonight, and He wants to cheer you on.

Speaking of encouraging people, I absolutely love this from Neil Byrne’s Pale Blue Jak blog post (I’m a bit obsessed with this album right now!!). His manager told him that he should write an album that year, even when he was incredibly busy with rehearsals, a CT cruise, a show to record, and promotions to do. He thought that his manager would just let him off the hook, but….“instead, what he said was “you can do it, you will do it and it will be the best you have ever done”. 

Never give up guys. Never stop dreaming, never stop achieving. Do you really want to be near the end of your life, and wonder what would have been? The answer to that is no. So go, get on it. Get started now and keep going.

Survival can be summed up in three words – never give up. That’s the heart of it really. Just keep trying. — Bear Grylls

Save me a Diet Coke (because I’m almost out and caffeine is fuel, y’all!), and I’ll see you on the flip side.

Helen

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in dreams, Goals, Lesson from the everyday, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

