The Sounds Of Silence

IMG_1587

Hello,

It’s been an interesting Monday so far.Let’s just say that babies and upset tummies, breakfasts and clean shirts do not mix. And dogs who are used to going for a walk with you will slip out from under the gate and run down the street when you go outside that gate,  forcing you to become the walkee instead of the walker.  All before 10:00 am. But that’s not what I want to write about today.

So I’m sitting here at the “office”, reading a book called Every Writer Needs A Tribe by Jeff Goins. It’s a great book so far. But while I read, I have my headphones in, and I’m jammin’ to my new Spotify playlist of the CT guy’s solo projects (and I have to say Neil Byrne’s Pale Blue Jak is getting the most play).

I’ve always needed background noise to write. While writing Christmas plays for my church, I’d listen to Toby Mac, or some other kind of music. Once when working on articles, I had the movie You’ve Got Mail playing over and over. It’s never really quiet at my house though. There’s a radio playing a Christian station constantly, and sometimes the TV is playing an I Love Lucy episode. I babysit some pretty fun, but loud little people, and I also have two rambunctious dogs. When I read the Bible in the or pray in the mornings,  I find that I can tune most of these things out.

What I’m wondering tonight is why I’m so wired to reject silence. I feel antsy in the quiet. Like I’m missing out on things, or there’s something I should be doing. I’m not one of those people who can sit and and reflect for more than a few minutes. Our church used to have prayer meetings, and it would just be dark and quiet in the sanctuary. I used to bring my headphones in with me, and turn on Kari Jobe. , while I prayed.

I worry that I’m not giving a project enough attention, if I don’t concentrate on it alone. But then again, I seem to work better when there’s a lot of noise going on. In much the same way that some writers work better when they’re under a deadline. The noise also seems to add a kind of soundtrack to the craziness in my head. Just something I’m thinking over.

Well, I need to get back to my reading and a few other things, so I’ll leave you with that for tonight. And if you’re one of those people who can function in the stillness and the quiet, I’d love to hear how you do it! And if you’re like me, and can’t work unless there’s noise, rock on my friends. Rock on.

Save me a Diet Coke friend, and I’ll see you on the flip side,

Helen

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Just Me, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

