My Wish For You

FullSizeRender (13)

From a distance we are instruments marching in a common band. Playing songs of hope, playing songs of peace. They’re the songs of every man. God is watching us. God is watching us. God is watching us from a distance. From a distance you look like my friend, even though we are at war. From a distance I just cannot comprehend what all this fighting is for. — Bette Midler 

Howdy,

I’m kicking it old school today, and writing a post to link up with Mama Kat’s Writer’s Worskshop.  . I say old school because when I first started blogging back in the day, Kat Bouska was one of the first bloggers that I ever read. I still try to keep up with her on Twitter, she is hilarious. Also a not so fun fact, but when my dad was dying,  I would try to stay awake nights so my mom could get a few hours of sleep. on those nights, I would go to the very beginning of Kat’s blog, and read and read. It worked too. I kept awake.

One of her workshop options was “you have one wish – what do you wish for? Now I know I know that I can’t solve world hunger, or bring about world peace, or anything like that. But since you asked, my one wish would be that everyone felt loved. Not the sappy teenage crush stuff, or the I love your work love, but the true love that changes someone. That makes them feel like they’re not alone, that they feel heard, and acknowledged.

I think that is one of the things want the most. To know that someone is listening to them. To know that someone understands. To have someone agree that yes, life sucks sometimes. And to have someone tell them that it will be okay, things will get better. Or sometimes to have someone not say anything, and just cry with them.

I don’t understand why we are so hateful to each other. Why people feel justified by judging someone by the color of their skin, or by the nation they came from. Or why we feel it’s fine to belittle someone because they disagree with us. Because I’m pretty sure we are all human beings created for a purpose.

I believe that love, pure love, can only come from God. But it is shown through me!! I believe that it is my responsibility to be His representative on earth. But as I say, sometimes I succeed more than other. Right now, I can think of several times when I didn’t show love at all. But that’s the beauty of God’s love for us.

But God put his love on the line for us by offering his Son in sacrificial death while we were of no use whatever to him.– Romans 5:8

I’m pretty sure that my wish will never be granted on a grand scale, but I can do my part, you can do your part, and maybe we can make this world a little more tolerable for all of us. I feel like this Instagram pic from Paul Byrom sums up this life nicely.

IMG_2420

Well save me a Diet Coke please, and I’ll see you on the flip side,

Helen

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Wish For You

  1. May says:

    Terrific post. You and I were on similar themes this week. Probably because there has been far too much evidence of hate in the world lately. Here’s to love!

    Like

  2. Helen Heard says:

    Thank you so much!! Yes, way too much! Enough is enough :).

    Like

  3. Kat says:

    Kickin’ it back old school indeed! I had no idea you would read back from the archives of my site. That’s a dangerous place to hang out girl. lol Interesting how our writing voices grow and change over time. I can definitely relate to that need to fill a void when you’re grieving like that though. I second your wish for love and peace. Everyone deserves that in their lives.

    Like

    • Helen Heard says:

      Haha! Hey, I really enjoyed reading your old posts :). i’m so glad we do grow and change. Thanks so much for writing your blog though, it certainly helped me in my hardest time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

