Never Style Your Hair With A Weed Eater, And Other Valuable Life Lessons

20130905-231843.jpg

Well, Hello There.

Long time no see. You’ve lost some weight, haven’t you? How are the kids? How’s mom? Great! What have I been doing, you ask? I’m getting back into writing. And trying to get fit. And becoming a little too obsessed with the guys from Celtic Thunder. Who are actually the ones that God used to give me a kick in the butt, to start doing some things I should have done years ago. You should really check out the CT video below. And then we’ll….., hey ladies get back here.

 

 

Not only are the Celtic Thunder guys great singer, actors, , and pretty dang easy on the eyes (am I right ladies?), they’re hard workers. I’ve read their bios, and they’ve all been working on being being a singer/musician since around preschool or grade school. Some are second generation musicians, they grew up around music, but they don’t rely on that. They promote their concerts, they reply to their fans, they post pic and videos, they do meets and greets. Like last night on Twitter, one of them said he was stopping to recharge, but 10 minutes later he was back online, promoting new gigs. But what really gets me is that they still take lessons, still meet with voice coaches and teachers. They don’t believe that they are above being taught.

When I first saw them on TV, I thought man these guys can sing!! I also thought that they had it made. I mean they ARE singers, they ARE musicians. They’ve got to be living the dream now. They can stop working so hard, they’re at the top. Everyone’s cheering for them! They have #1 records! But as we know, looks can be deceiving.

We don’t know the extent of their work behind the scenes to make all of that happen. We don’t know the full story. Which makes me think that perhaps it’s our perception that needs to be adjusted. As we grow into adulthood, we form opinions on things that will usually stick with us throughout our lives. Sometimes these views are based on personal experience. But sometimes they can be the result of our being judgmental, and going with the first impression we form of people or situations.

For example, if we see an overweight person, do we immediately peg them a lazy, or think maybe they have a health condition that is stopping them from loosing weight? Or maybe they are taking care of a sick loved one, and just do not have time to eat right, or work out? When we pass a homeless person, do we immediately think what a bum, or do we wonder if maybe they lost a job, couldn’t find another, and things just spiraled out of control? Do we see a successful person, and think they have it all together, and that they shouldn’t have any problems or heartaches? or realize that they are humans like we are, and that everyone has heart aches, guilt, happiness, and sadness at one time or another?

I know I have been guilty of those thoughts. And of forming a first impression of someone and flat out not liking them, until I realized my opinion of them was way off!! My Mom always says that she never makes an opinion of someone from a first impression. I aspire  to get to that point. Oh that I would begin to think of people like Jesus does. Thinking of them as worthy of His life and death, and seeing who they could be instead of who I think they are now!! These are a few of my life goals!!

Now you see, for a normal, safety conscious  person the above picture would probably say something boring like, be careful that your hair or clothing do not get caught in the weed eater. But in my head, that picture says, please don’t style your hair with this weed eater. Go grab a brush, and put your hair up in a little bun! How adorable! Perception.

Save me a Diet Coke, and I’ll see you on the flip side,

Helen

 

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Me, Musings, Weird Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

