A Little Late To The Party

FullSizeRender (12)

Hello,

It’s a stormy day in the metropolis. I personally love stormy days, so I am enjoying listening to the rain falling behind my open window. Most people would probably say something all romantic here, about walking with their sweetheart in the rain, or rain gently falling, or some other such nonsense.

I am not most people, so I say get your hiney back inside, especially if it’s storming. Goodness, you ain’t got the sense God gave a goose. And the rain dripping off of the roof sounds a little like frying oil popping. Or maybe that’s just because I haven’t had lunch.

Anyways, since I’m trying to make changes in my life these days,  I thought I’d pen a few words about one of my worst habits. I  am habitually late.My family and friends will most assuredly agree, that pretty much around 97 &1/2 percent of the time, I will arrive later than I should be to an event. To any event. Dinner, church, road trips, family events, pretty much everything. For example, at this very moment I should be getting ready to leave to go visit a friend that is in a nursing home for rehab. On second thought, I’d better get on that. Be right back……

Well, that break ended up being me getting ready to leave, going to the nursing home to visit my friend, attending another friends’ church, a stop at Dairy Queen, and then coming home to watch 3 episodes of I Love Lucy. See, I was even unintentionally late to get back to this blog post!!

Today I deleted an email from someone who wanted to chat about writing. The email was dated, I hate to even say it…. in 2013. For three years that little email has sat in my inbox, waiting to be answered. When I finally decided to answer it today, the website was no longer there. I’m so embarrassed to admit that it took me 3 years to write an email!!

I feel like I’m running late in the morning too. I set my alarm for 5, but usually end up pushing snooze until 6:40. Then I usually have to rush to get things done before my first baby gets here.

So what is a girl to do? Is being late just being lazy? Is it not being considerate of others? This would probably be one of my major new years goals. If I made such things. Which I have, now. In March. I’m late again, naturally.

 

Save me a Diet Coke (but you might want to go ahead and keep it in the fridge), and I’ll see you on the flip side,

Helen

 

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Just Me, Musings, organization, personal, Weird and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

