Tossed About But Lifted Up

“It is unimaginable to picture a wooden-faced, stoic, joyless, and judgmental Jesus as He reclined with ragamuffins.” –Brennan Manning

“I grew up hearing everyone tell me ‘God loves you’. I would say big deal, God loves everybody. That don’t make me special! That just proves that God ain’t got no taste. And, I don’t think He does. Thank God! Because He takes the junk of our lives and makes the most beautiful art.” — Rich Mullins

Howdy Peeps!

Happy New Year friends! We’ve made it to 2015! Who would have thunk it? Hope y’all had a wonderful holiday season :).

Christmas Lights

And not to sound to teenage girly, I have so many things to share with you.

Blog Wise.

As you can see I have changed the name of the blog once again. It is now called Ragamuffin Child. The reasons for the name change are twofold. #1 I wanted a bit clearer sounding name, and #2 I watched the Ragamuffin Movie. It’s a movie based on the life of my absolute favorite singer/speaker Rich Mullins. If you haven’t watched it yet, please do yourself a favor and check it out! The name Ragamuffin Child comes from Ragamuffin: because we all come to Jesus, broken and destitute. Child: because He cleanses us through His blood, and now I am His child.

By the end of this month, I’ll be moving the blog to it’s own domain. I will be using this site to show case my writing as well, so get ready for stories, articles, devotions, and such as well.

Starting in February, I want to begin doing give aways, and contests. These are uncharted waters for me, so bear with me please. And don’t forget to comment, or hit me up on Twitter.

Me Wise (Can’t you tell I’m a writer? :))

The last few months have been crazy, stressful, terrifying, annoying, teachable, unbelievable for my family. Where we have seen the goodness of God, and the evil of the devil. People we have taken into our home and with whom we have broken bread, have just absolutely astounded us these past few months. And trust me it HURTS like heck! But it also teaches you that there is only One we can ever depend on.

Through out everything, I have learned to fight back against the devil (For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places. — Ephesians 6:12) , to keep that shield of faith up, to keep my armor on, to stay grounded in His Word, to ClING to Him, to be humble,  to stand tall, to ignore the negative, and to focus on His goodness.

i figure it’s time to cast out the fear, and act like we have a backbone in Christ. So I am going to start this writing thing, because that’s what I feel God is telling me to do. Simply put, it’s about obedience. Well, that’s all I got for you today boys and girls.

Oh if you want to know where the title for today’s post came from, of course it’s from one of Rich’s songs!!

I’ll catch you on the flip side friends. Save me a Diet Coke!

Helen

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Faith, Ideas, Lesson from the everyday, Me, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

