Look, Christians Are Just Like Us….

10170874_10152373420495844_4650672092229470895_n

 

Well Hello There,

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today is Christians who acknowledge Jesus with their lips, then walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable. — Brennan Manning 

What if I stumble, what if I fall? What if I lose my step and I make fools of us all? Will the love continue when my walk becomes a crawl? What if I stumble and what if I fall? — DCTalk 

A lot has changed here in my little world in the past few weeks. But that’s a post for another time.

But……. There are a few things rambling around my cranium (look mom, a big word!), and what better way to get them out, than to get them out on here. So here goes.

My Aunt and I were talking on the way home from church about whether or not we want rain and sunsets around our mansion in heaven. I love storms!! I think they’re beautiful. I asked someone about them once, and they said there would be no storms in heaven, because there would be no dark clouds. Bummer man!!

971758_10151711656485844_1797227354_n

Anywho, I started thinking about it. Then I told my Aunt that while we talk big and make a lot of plans, we’ll probably be so happy we actually made it in, that we wont care what our house up there looks like. She said she used to think like that. I still do. You see, I’m probably not the best Christian that Jesus could find down here.

I love Jesus, but sometimes I don’t read my Bible, I watch TV first. I don’t pray like I should. I say shit and damn way too much. I’ve been wanting to taste a beer every now and then for the past few weeks (and as I type this, Oh How He Loves Us comes on the radio station I’m listening to). No, I’ve never tasted one, but for some reason, I want to. Now before you think I’m trying to stir up fake pity, or before we get into the whole Christians can or can’t drink/cuss/smoke/etc…. argument, hang on I’m going somewhere with this.

Have you ever seen those pictures in that one magazine where they say “Celebrities, They’re Just Like Us?” They show us those pics of celebrities eating fries, or walking with their kids. And we are supposed to think, hey they eat, sleep, walk, breathe, we could sooo be BFFs.

Now I wonder, is that what the church world is doing? Is that what I’m doing? You’re supposed to change after you get saved right? My assistant pastor has this saying, “If you are what  you were, then you ain’t (a follower of Christ).” What does that say about me? I love God, but sometimes I feel a bit numb at church. And what if someone hears me cuss (this is a hard habit to break)?

Am I really fighting bad habits here, or am I as a Christian, simply adopting too much of the world? ‘We can drink, we can cuss, see we’re just like you!” Isn’t there supposed to be a difference in me?? And to those who don’t struggle with the same things I do, maybe you feel like this about something else? Because really, don’t we all go through this? Or am I simply rambling?

thomas pic

 

Save me a Diet Coke, and I’ll catch you on the flip side friend,

Blessings and Peace,

Helen

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Faith, Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

