All You Need Is Love?

securedownload

Hey There,

Last Monday night, my little brother and I were having a leisurely evening. We made homemade quesadillas, and watched The Gaithers and Thor. Somewhere towards the end of Thor, a really sweet friend sent me a text, and asked for prayer for her brother in law, who was a fireman, that had been in accident. About an hour later, we learned that it was the same fireman that had been knocked off of a Dallas bridge, onto a highway overpass. He fell over 50 feet, and died from his injuries, leaving behind a wife and three kiddos, ages 4-13.

1601144_10152206404146508_1084358153_n

Our community has been pretty much in shock these past few days. We have also seen so many people come together to show their support for this family. The Facebook page that has been set up for him has a roll call, and fire departments as far as Vermont and New York have signed it. There are memories of his college baseball career, pictures of his old team, interviews with kids that he has coached, and a petition to rename our city’s baseball field after him. The main thing that hits the hardest is the horribleness of the way he died. And what’s shining through now, is the love and protectiveness that people feel towards his family.

1507019_698834526805865_17096774_n

Of course in all of this, I have started to think about my own mortality. Not the what happens after you die part, I’ve got that down with Jesus. But to think about what my legacy will be, what will people think about me after I’m gone. I know one thing that’s perfectly clear. I want to love more, and judge less. I want to show others that God loves them too.

And so we come close to Valentines Day. A day of love and appreciation. And that brings me to something I want to ask y’all. Something that has been bothering me. When did Valentines Day become all about us? When did we begin to need a “Singleness Awareness Day?” Why should it bother me that you have a date, but I don’t? Or that you get flowers, or not? When did we turn a day that is supposed to be about love into a competition?

Back to the legacy thing. And no, don’t worry, I’m not going to get all sappy on you, and start writing long posts about destiny,and how I want you to remember me (although, look for a few posts on dreams, and not putting things off). I don’t know if Scott got to kiss his wife goodbye on Monday morning. I don’t know if he sat down and worked through math problems with his kids this past weekend. But I do guarantee you this from experience, when you loose a loved one, there is one thing that absolutely kills you. It is that you will remember every time that you could have spent time with them, but didn’t.

So it being Valentines Day, why not go love somebody? And not just today, but this next week, this next month, throughout this year. What do we have to loose? Here are just a few ideas:

Get off of the computer and go outside with your kids.  Look up from Facebook and Twitter more often. Bring home dinner.  Make the bed.  Do the dishes. Tell your family and friends that you love them. Take your kids to the park. Call your parents. Show your grandparents how to use their cell phone. Leave a bigger tip than usual. Offer an elderly person your seat. Watch that princess movie you’ve seen 100 times with your daughter. Change a light bulb that your wife can’t reach. Give your pastor a gift card to his favorite restaurant. Pray with someone that needs it. Play basketball with the neighborhood kids. Pay for the order of the car in line behind you.

When we’re gone, our family and friends will be left with mostly memories. Be they good or be they bad. I for one, want my loved ones to know exactly how much I care for them. What about you?  🙂

I’ll catch you on the flip side, friends. I love ya, have a Diet Coke for me today.

Blessings and Peace,

Helen

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Family, Ideas, Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

