Mattresses And Such

Hey There,

So….there are 2 things that I need to share with you up front. Only semi really related to this post, but still important.

#1 It has been rainy and cold for the past three days in my part of Texas. Freezing!! Well, 30’s to 40’s really, but come on son!! Praying for all of those still stuck in actual ice and snow.

#2 You have no idea how much I wanted to name this post “Going To The Mattresses.” I think I showed a respectable amount of self control. Especially since last night was:

photo 2 (1)

 

Now, on to the post:

There is a hole in my air mattress. No, that’s not a metaphor for anything, there’s an actual hole. My brother tried to duct tape it – as all true Texan’s will – but alas, it did not work.

photo 1

 

The strange thing about it is that we do not know how this happened. After I took out my old mattress (long story. short version is I had an elderly canine companion that had too many accidents. My mattress went from let’s Febreeze that, to oh my goodness that needs to get out of the house), I started sleeping on an air mattress. Comfy, and easier to keep clean.

I laid the kids that I babysit down for a nap, the mattress was fine. Then when they got up from nap, half of it was flat. I asked the kids what had happened, they didn’t know. The dog hadn’t been on the mattress that morning. No one knew what had happened.

And you know what? This made me think of something. About how many times stuff happens in our lives, and we have no earthly idea why. Maybe a good friend suddenly stops talking to us (been there). Or our hours get slashed at work when we think we’re doing awesome (and there), or our car get’s totaled in a random accident (yep).  And we step back and look at the situation, and ask  “what the crap just happened?”

Now I’m not one of those people that say well, it must have been God’s will for (insert bad thing here to happen). I do not even pretend to have all of the answers (not even the top five :)). But I do believe that God holds us in the palm of His hand. And I know He holds us even tighter when we are knocked for a loop, and can’t begin to know what is going on.

I’m pretty sure that most of the people in the Bible had lives that none of us would want to borrow. My two favorites, King David and the Apostle Peter didn’t always have peace like a river. Surprises seemed to be waiting for them around every corner. I’m equally sure that my Lord and Savior Jesus’ life wasn’t all sunshine and rainbows either. What with people trying to kill Him, and all. But somehow, they persevered. They were made stronger by their circumstances.

My point, if I even have one is this, when you get blindsided, when you get knocked down, don’t buy into the lie that’s that’s all there is. That it will never get better. That you’ll never get back up again. We may never know why these things happen to us or our loved ones, but God does. And maybe, just maybe, you’ll be able to show your battle scars to someone else who’s fighting the same battle. What doesn’t kill ya make ya stronger, right?

Like I said, that’s just something I was thinking about today. Feel free to leave a comment on this, or any other post. I’ll catch ya on the flip side, friends. Please save me a Diet Coke…and a cookie.

Blessings and Peace,

Helen

And speaking of The GodFather…. A few scenes from my favorite “comfort movie” You’ve Got Mail. Enjoy.

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Faith, Lesson from the everyday, Me, Musings, Weird Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

