Ode To The Pioneer Woman

photo 2 (1)

Howdy,

There is something I must confess to you, my friends. Aside from the fact that I thought about calling Guinness, because I have now blogged 3 days in a row. It is the fact that I am a mild, okay maybe a little more than mild, okay huge, fan of  Ree Drummond, aka The Pioneer Woman.

My family often hears me say “I’ll look up the Pioneer Woman’s recipe for that.”

It all started when my brother won a raffle at his work. The prize? A box of meat! Steaks, hamburger meat, and sausage. Also included were those hamburger steaks that you make chicken fried steaks from (where did the chicken part come from?). Trouble is, I had no idea how to cook chicken fried steak. A quick Google search (thank You Jesus for Google) revealed her recipe.

I followed the recipe, and it turned out exactly like she said it would, which is always a plus for me! Right then, I knew that we would be best friends I was going to have to learn more about her.

I started reading her blog. I liked her Facebook page, and followed her on Twitter. My fan-nes (?) has only grown since then. It’s gotten pretty bad, people.  I may or may not have offered to adopt her.

2014-02-01_1132

Maybe more than once.

2014-02-01_1135

Ahem. Moving on.

Recently I made her roast chicken recipe, and of course it was delicious! And of course, everyone loved it, and I just ate up the accolades (see what I did there? a little cooking humor)! One day I too hope to inspire people to cook with real butter, real mayo, and make little perfect cheese cakes shooters (insert happy sigh). But until then, I will just have to keep watching her Food Network show, and reading and trying out the recipes on her blog.

And Ree, if you ever read this, just remember I will always have plenty of Diet Coke in the fridge, and ingredients to make whatever your heart desires. But that doesn’t mean you would always have to do the cooking. I’m just saying that cheese cakes make great gifts.

I’ll catch you on the flip side, friends. Have a blessed weekend, and don’t forget to get your worship on in church tomorrow.

Blessings and Peace,

Helen

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Food, Me, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

