Little Biggies…

photo 2

Hey There,

Sorry if this post is downer, or doesn’t make much sense,  but this is something that I have been wondering about today. It seems that I as Christian differentiate between sin and SIN. I mean you accidentally receive a few extra coins from the cashier, and you don’t notice it until you get to your car, and you don’t say anything– little sin. You go partying, get really drunk, sleep with someone — Big Sin. I’m sure we all have our own example of this scenario.

Another example is, I have issues with being judgmental (I said in my previous post I would be honest). I went to a concert once, and sat there thinking “they can’t possibly be doing this for God.” Then clearly, I heard Him say ‘how can you sit there and judge what’s in his heart?” And you know what I can’t.

But how is my being judgmental, letting my temper get the best of me, and saying cuss words in my head instead of out loud any different than anyone else’s sin? How can I speak the truth in love, without leaving my greasy fingerprints on someone as I go to guide them to the right way?

The thing is the Bible never makes a distinction between sins. Sin is sin. 

For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard. -Romans 3:23. 

The Bible tells us that:

Those who are dominated by the sinful nature think about sinful things, but those who are controlled by the Holy Spirit think about things that please the Spirit. So letting your sinful nature control your mind leads to death. But letting the Spirit control your mind leads to life and peace. For the sinful nature is always hostile to God. It never did obey God’s laws, and it never will. That’s why those who are still under the control of their sinful nature can never please God. But you are not controlled by your sinful nature. You are controlled by the Spirit if you have the Spirit of God living in you. (And remember that those who do not have the Spirit of Christ living in them do not belong to him at all.) -Romans 8:5-9.

Does this mean that if I see someone struggling, I’m going to just be all timid, and leave them there? No. There’s nothing wrong with helping someone up, praying with them, and taking them before God. I believe it means that I can never be prideful (another are I struggle with. i’m a mess, lol) in my walk with God. I can never be all I’m so much better than you because I don’t do X, all the while I have Y in my heart.

It means as a teacher, I have to be very careful in how I address others about their struggles. I have to pray and ask God for forgiveness daily. Now that being a Christian is all a uphill fight all of the time, because it isn’t. But it is a journey. It does take work.

Ah, just things I think about……. Feel free to leave a comment about this if you wish. I’ll catch ya on the flip side, friends.

Blessings and Peace,

Helen

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Faith, Me, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

