Laughing Over Us

IMAG0462

When I ran from You, I ran to You. And when I tried to hide, I found You there. And when I told You no, You knew right where I’d go. So when I ran from You, I ran to You — Chris August

Howdy,

I heard his laughter across the yard, and tried to see what had captured his attention. ‘Come back here,” I heard him say as he laughed again. Finally I spotted it. A brown leaf that had been left over from when our trees shed their folliage this past Fall.

My two year old nephew had found one leaf and was playing with it. He would throw it up in the air, and watch it fly away, call it back, run after it, catch it, and then release it again. All the while laughing over it, and keeping tabs on that one leaf blowing in the Texas wind.

“Hey Lando,” I asked, “Can I see your leaf? I’ll hold it for you.” “Okay” he replied, and came running and handed it to me. While I didn’t expect to find perfection, I was surprised by what I saw. The leaf had holes in it, it was torn, it wasn’t pretty. But it had given him as much joy as much as a beautiful flower would have.

Leaf

That little leaf really made me think. How many times had I been selfish, prideful, unloving, and ugly. How many times had I let sins burrow in my heart, and tear pieces of it away? How many times had tried to run away from God, thinking I was actually getting somewhere?

That many times, He watched me try to fly. He kept His eye on me, and only let me get so far before He called “Come back.” Sometimes laughing at the silly trouble I find myself in, sometimes crying when I turned a deaf ear to what He had to say. But always loving, always running after me, always faithful, never failing to call me back to Him.

11For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. 12Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. 13And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:11-13.

1O Lord, You have searched me and known me. 2You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off. 3You comprehend my path and my lying down, And are acquainted with all my ways. 4For thereis not a word on my tongue, But behold, O Lord, You know it altogether. 5You have hedged me behind and before, And laid Your hand upon me. 6Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; It is high, I cannot attain it. 7Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence? 8If I ascend into heaven, You are there; If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there. 9If I take the wings of the morning, And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, 10Even there Your hand shall lead me, And Your right hand shall hold me. Psalms 130:1 – 10.
Blessings and Peace,
Helen
About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Faith, Lesson from the everyday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Laughing Over Us

  1. This is awesome! I love the story of your cousin and the leaf and how it beautifully replicates our relationship with God. It is such an encouraging reminder! It isn’t about how many holes are in the leaf; it is about the joy that the holder has for the leaf, holes and all! Thank you for sharing this 🙂

    Like

    • Helen Heard says:

      Aww, I love that!! God uses the little things to get through to us, since we tend to miss a lot of His “there’s your sign’ moments. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

