Dry Ramen Noodles And Other Not So Minor Details

Can’t change what’s happened till now. But we can change what will be, by living in holiness, that the world will see Jesus.
For such a time as this,I was placed upon the earth, to hear the voice of God, and do His will, whatever it is.–Wayne Watson

Good Day,

A few nights ago, I made Ramen noodles and barbecued smoke sausage for dinner. Now I know what you’re thinking, and the answer is no. No, I don’t cater large dinner parties, or do windows.There’s an art to making the American delicacy known as Ramen noodles. Too much water, and they are lost in a sea of watered down flavor, too little water, and you still have a crunchy block of pasta.

While making them the other night, I still had the block. I added more water. Still too dry. So I added even more water. And even more. Finally I thought, they had a decent creamy consistency. I decided I should probably taste them, since I never want to serve inferior Ramen products to my family. And they were to put it mildly, horrible. They were extremely watered down to the point that I couldn’t really tell what flavor they were supposed to be.

It hit me after that, that for a while, up until last month or so, that’s what I had been doing to my Christian faith. Sure I called myself a Christian, I went to church, I taught Children’s Church, I wrote the Christmas play, I was there for most of the services. But I didn’t always pray, I wasn’t always thankful, I didn’t always read my Bible, a lot I ignored His words.

A few months ago, while I was praying at the back of my church, I felt God speak to my heart. He said “It’s time to grow up kid”. I thought about that for a while, and then promptly forgot about it. Then about a month ago, I was standing in my kitchen making a pot of stew, I felt Him step into the room, and all I could do is cry.  Once again, I felt His sweet voice say “Are you tired of church as usual? You can do something about that.” Two days later, everything became clear. What I was supposed to do in life, what my purpose was.

I realized I was tired of living a watered down life. Tired of not using the gifts he gave me. Tired of ignoring Him, and being miserable.Tired of playing church, tired of pretending I was happy, tired of not trusting Him totally. Perhaps you have noticed that in the last month or so, this blog has become more about Him, than it ever used to be. That’s because I finally remembered what flavor I was supposed to be, and to Whom I owe my life.

I plan to keep writing about Him, and my journey with Him in this blog. I’m not going to sugar coat it, or make it seem that a Christian walk is easy, or always sunshine and flowers. But I do hope that I will point people to Jesus, and to me, that’s the most important thing I can ever do.

Blessings and Peace,

H. Reanne

 

 

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Faith, Lesson from the everyday, Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

