Crickets Smiling

O Lord, You have searched me. and You know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; You perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; You are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue. You know it completely, O Lord. Psalms 139:1-4.

Howdy,

A few nights ago, as I was waiting on a load of laundry to finish (story of my life), I decided to check out the happenings on Twitter and Facebook. I ran across an update a FB friend that lives a few states away had made, and it made me smile. He talked about hearing crickets, sitting on his porch, and a few other things. “Aww, that’s sweet” I thought, then went to check the dryer.

As soon as I opened the dryer door, I heard them. Crickets out on my back porch. “Seriously God”, I thought “Now You’re just messing with me.” While some people might think it a mere coincidence,  I tend to think it was my heavenly Father having a little fun with His kid. I have no doubt God knows how much I admire this person, listen to this person, and yes I also think he’s completely adorable. And since He knows me so well, I know He knew that would make me smile too.

I love the fact that I serve a God that died for me, and took all my sins away. But I also love the fact that I serve a God that loves me so much, He keeps coming up with ways to make me smile. Like rainy days, clouds in the sky, funny songs, amazing friends, other writers, I could go on and on.

If you don’t know Him, please get to know Him. There is no other feeling like the indescribable peace that comes with knowing Him. Yes, you feel hurt, sorrow, pain, rejection, indifference. He never said you wouldn’t, but he did say He would be with you all the way. And when time get hard, like any loving Father would, He will pick you up and carry you through.

When’s the last time you really felt that kind of love? When is the last time crickets made you smile? 🙂

I also read where this person had said to treat writing like a job. This made think that I couldn’t go to bed with out writing something. The following is a poem I wrote that night. I know it needs work, but hopefully you will enjoy it. 

Funny-ness

I find it’s funny that you talk about hearing the crickets on your porch,

When I can hear the crickets chirping right out side my back door.

I think it’s funny you talk about treating writing like a job,

When I  am stalling, instead of scribbling my ideas from God.

I think it’s funny that you always  inspire me, and you don’t even know,

But someday I will tell you when we meet, on the other side or here below.

 

Blessing and Peace

H. Reanne

 

 

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Faith, Me, Musings, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

