If You Want To Know What I Did Last Summer…

Howdy Folks,

As Fall approaches, I am so relieved to realize that Texas weather has other setting besides hot, very hot, and “oh my goodness we’re going to die” hot. But before we cool down too much, and trade t-shirts for a cozy jackets, cold Dr Peppers for hot chocolate, and capri pants for longer capri pants, I wanted to share with you a few of my family’s summer highlights.

#1. We Remodeled Our Kitchen 

Our house is about 20 years old, and it shows it’s age. The kitchen especially. It had some old timey cabinet tops that serious needed to be replaced.

 

So we replaced them. Or rather several very nice gentlemen from a neighboring town replaced them. Because if we had tried, we would have dropped a piece of that granite on our foot.

We also found out our hot water heater had been spraying water all over walls of the closet in which it is kept. So I got to paint. Not a big fan of painting, but I am a big fan of getting the kitchen back together.

#2 We’re Trying To Eat Healthier…ish. 

Spinach, sausage, and cheese casserole.

There is an app called Evernote Food that will let you take pictures, and share them on Facebook, Twitter, or where ever.

#3 We Went To The Zoo.

Everyone took a vacation (Mom and I from the kids we keep, and Little Brother from work) for a week. One of the summers very hot days,  we went to the Dallas Zoo. As I mentioned it was hot, and we didn’t know that we could bring water, so we ended up spending close to $6 for two bottles of water. Most of the animals were put up because of the heat, but we did see a few of them.

#4 I Went To My First Texas Ranger Game 

Some really great friends took me to my first Rangers game. Yes that’s them! We were really high up… Go Rangers!!!!!

#5 I Learned To Knit. Sort Of….

When my parent were missionaries in South America, I had learned how to knit. Mainly because I liked to hear the needles click (I know, I’m a strange person). So we had a knitting class at our church, and this is as far as I got.

Well, that’s what I did this Summer. I hope you had an awesome Summer, and will keep reading, and walk with me into the rest of the year :).

Blessings and Peace,

H. Reanne

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Family, fun, Me, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If You Want To Know What I Did Last Summer…

  1. darcie says:

    I like the way the needles click too! Glad to see you getting into blogging again. I’m making baby steps into the habit. Or trying to. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

