G’bye 2011, Howdy 2012

Howdy Folks,

I know what you’re thinking, and yes that is my Big Tex voice. As 2011 packs up it’s suitcase, grabs his coat, and umbrella (because it finally did rain here in East TX), I thought I’d write this post. I really wanted to shy away from the list post (although Dave Barry does an excellent job on his year in review), mainly because I really don’t remember everything that happened this year. Seriously, I have to write post-it notes on the door or frig, so I will remember to do things. But because I dig all of you, here goes:

January/February/March

I’m not sure that these months even happened this year. Last year in April, my Dad passed away. I only mentioned that because my family was soooo eager to leave 2010 behind. Anyways, the only major thing I can think of was the “big TX ice storm”.

Image

And we all know that TX cannot function in an ice storm. Also there was talk of loosing electricity during the “big TX ice storm”, because everyone was using too much power. On account of the freezing cold, and the “big TX ice storm”. We also started watching my two nephews, and niece Monday through Friday in our home. Now then, can anyone name one other thing that did happen during these supposed months. Anyone? Anyone? That’s what I though. Moving on to….

April/May/June

In April we had Easter. I remember this because we had an Easter Cantada at church. That is Spanish for singing until the little kids are so restless they are ready to climb the walls. We had all of our family over for Easter dinner, then collapsed into a Easter ham coma. We also did this small remodeling job, truly insignificant. It only involved moving everything out of two bedrooms into the living room. Then patching up walls where the dog had chewed, filling nail holes, painting ceilings, walls and floors. There was a week of sleeping anywhere in the living room, working till midnights, and many trips to Lowes. It started getting really warm somewhere in May. Moving on to…..

July/August/September

By July, the thermostat in TX had been turned to HIGH!! It started in May, then proceeded to go up from there. The thermostat went up past 100*, there was NO rain! Lakes started evaporating, water restrictions went out. Plants and trees started dying, we had several major fires in the state. Our city ran out of water for about 4 days (that’s always fun), we were featured all over the news. We also took my children’s church group to our local science discovery place. Two teachers, two helpers, and twelve kids. Fun, fun, fun! Moving on to….

October/November/December

By Halloween, it had cooled off tremendously, enough so we could bare to be outside again. Our church had our annual Hallelujah party. Which means there was a lot of Chocolate candy. Umm for the children of course. Then it finally rained, I almost felt like running out there, and playing in it. In November, NaNoWriMo started again. I wrote about 5000 words on a work in progress, and then let it go. We had our Thanksgiving dinner on the Saturday after the holiday, and I took that day to FINALLY write our church’s Christmas play. December was filled with play practices, and celebrating The One who gave us everything. That brings us to now…

Have a blessed and wonderful New Year!! Next year, I will try to actually have a decent end of the year post for you all. This means I’m going to have to get more post-its.

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

