Then On The Second Day…..

Hello,

Today boys and girls, the subject is heroes. And speaking of heroes,  the peeps over at  SITS and their sponsors Standards Of Excellence, Westar Kitchen and Bath, and Florida Builder Appliances, may just have some sort of super secret super powers to get people to start blogging again. Their assignment for today was to upload a post I wished more people had read. And as I was saying, today’s post is about heroes.

This post is important to me because it’s about the quiet heroes in our lives,  that we sometimes overlook until we are in trouble. I started off talking about my Dad in this post, and little did we realize that he would go to his home with Jesus four months later.

Believe me, I didn’t know that amount of pain was possible until my Dad died. I have literally had to go to the bathroom at work, to just cry. While I loved and adored my Dad, I didn’t realize how much of a quiet hero he was for our family. He made us laugh, he made us feel better when we had a bad day,  he even made us french fries when we were hungry.

His death leaves such a void in our lives.  It also makes me think of how many other people I overlook until I feel they’re needed.  My Mom and Brother who put up with me, my friends who will pray with me at the drop of a hat, and who I know will rearrange their schedule to fit mine. Thank you guys, you know who you are!!

What heroes are in your life? Are you giving them their dues?

Heroes, we all need heroes. Someone to believe in, someone who believes in you. Heroes,  they don’t try to be heroes. Doing every day what every day people won’t do—From Heroes by Kenny Rogers.

(To hear this song, please click here)

Hello,

In the 1950′s all my dad wanted to do was be an air-force pilot. He was seventeen,  had trained with the ROTC, and was about to be cleared for entrance into the military’s training program. Then as some dreams do, his was shattered. After being asked several questions on his medical forms, the Air Force discovered that he had a seizure disorder named epilepsy. And that’s when he learned that he would never be allowed to fly.

He  took this especially hard. He quit school in the tenth grade, and became a welders apprentice, eventually learning all he could and went on to have a successful 40 year career in the field. My dad still talks about what would have been, even though now he is  seventy. If only he had kept his illness a secret, if only he had never had seizures, if only….. When he speaks of his dreams now, there’s a certain wishing, a longing if you will, to be that someone that saves the day, a hero.

It’s in all of us, I suppose. That desire to not just help people, but go the extra mile and really be there for them. Now I’m not talking about the mercy shown to us at the cross, or the opportunity for heroism that our troops face every day. I’m talking of that down deep feeling, that we have when we see a problem or a friend in need,  and think “with God’s help I could fix that”. Some people already do that, and they don’t even know it.

Where would we be without the Grandparents that take in their grand kids and raise them. The nurses that work past their shifts, just to make sure their patients are taken care of. The mechanics that take our cars 30 minutes before closing, because they know that car is our only transportation. The teachers that work with our kids on their own time, just to be sure that they pass their tests.

The people that we know will pray, take us in, give us a hug, loan us funds, or simply let us cry on their shoulder for a while. Do heroes walk among us?  Heck yeah, they do! Let’s remember to take a moment, to thank the ones in our lives today.

Peace!

Helen Heard

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Gifts, Lesson from the everyday, Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

