Confessions Of A Chicken Writer

Hello,

The greatest mistake you can make in life is to continually be afraid you will make one.-Elbert Hubbard.

The setting: A small plain classroom where all of the desks have pushed against the walls, and metal chairs are arranged in a half circle.

Me (standing): ” I just wanted to introduce my self, my name is Helen and I ‘m a writer”.

Everyone (smiling): “Hi Helen!”

Me (pausing): “But… I’m not just a web writer, article writer, and blogger, I am also a chicken writer”.

Everyone (looks of pity): “Oh”…..

Okay so the above scene, took place only in my head (it can be a strange place up there), but that’s pretty much how it would have gone, if I did attend a meeting of Chicken Writers Anonymous. Truth be told, I am a chicken writer. I am essentially afraid of two things: 1.) that I’m not a good writer or 2.) that I am.

#1. I’m Just No Good, Ma.

If I keep believing that I’m not a good writer, then I can keep not writing as much as I should, not submitting things, and feel okay about it. Because if I’m no good, then who would want to read what I’ve written anyways? This line of thinking lets me be a lazy writer, and feel sorry for myself all at the same time! Win-win, right? Yeah it turns out, not so much.

#2. They Like Me, They Really Like Me!

On the other hand if I resign myself to the fact that I am a fairly decent writer, people may start to expect things from me, like actual writing. This would require a lot more work on my part, but would definitely help me succeed more than the other way of thinking.

#3. Maybe There Is Something In What They Say.

So now as I write this I am thinking, have I been mistaking fear for laziness all this time? Am I really afraid to move forward, or simply unmotivated? Apprehension for procrastination? It may take some time to figure all of this out. I guess I just really needed to get that out there, and see it in writing.

If you like me, are a chicken writer, maybe we just need to take a step of faith, and just do it. Start small, contacting our local papers, writing our own blogs, could help us get over our fears. Until then, this meeting of Chicken Writers Anonymous is hereby dismissed.

Blessings, Peace and Success!

Helen Heard

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Lesson from the everyday, Musings, personal, Weird Stuff, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

