Journaling For Fun

diary

Hello,

Ah, the topic of journaling takes me back, to the days of having the purple and pink diary, that I used to hide from my little brother. I remember recording everything in there, from my crush on Dallas Cowboys quarterback Troy Aikman, to the birth of my nieces.

I made a pact to keep writing in it every day, which I actually did for about a year. Going back through it now, I realize how goofy I was, and how the little things I thought I would remember for ever are distant memories now. But this article focuses on the benefits of journaling today, so we’ll focus on that.

#1. It Is Great Therapy
There is something so powerful about having a blank page to fill, with just your private thoughts, as I am sure most writers would agree with me. You don’t really need anything fancy, just a simple blank notebook will do. Go ahead write in it whatever you would like, maybe you have had a bad day at the office, or perhaps your favorite sports team just lost again, or maybe you received a promotion, or just got engaged. Be as descriptive as you feel, whatever it takes to make you feel better, writing is good therapy.

#2. It Will Be There For Future
I know it sounds cheesy, but I plan to let my future children read my old diaries. They may not get anything more out of it, than how dorky their mom was, but I still want them to be able to see that part of me. Think of all the famous diaries that we have read, Anne Frank, and others, that we have learned from. If they had not taken the time to keep those records, we would not have had those glimpses into our history. So keep your journal, you might never know who will learn from it.

#3. It Will Help You Remember
Keeping a journal on a daily or even weekly basis, will help you to remember the feelings you had a certain time. Whether those were joy or remorse, it is great to be able to remember all of the emotions that go with our experiences. A journal, like a calendar, because you will normally write the date on it, will also help you to remember important days, including birthdays,weddings, and other events.

#4. It Can Be A Great Tool
You have probably heard of doctors or nutritionists that recommend keeping a food journal, to help loose weight and keep fit. A journal can be used as a tool for different things, writing down your caloric intake, sorting out your emotions, assessing an experience, and much more. Just take your inspiration from whatever you need to sort out or keep track of, and start writing.

So go ahead start journaling, and recording those memories, remember to have fun with it too.

Blessings, Peace, and Success!

Helen Heard

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in fun, personal, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

