Memories Are Made Of This/Back In The Day

me-and-joanna

Hello,

Back in the day, way before Playstations, DS’s, X-boxes, and all the other electronics that kids are used to today, was my season of childhood. Looking at everything kids have today makes me wonder, how did we ever entertain ourselves back then? Well, I do believe that we had to be a bit more creative, and imaginative.

Aside from feeling really old right now, I figured I would write this post and share with you a little about what was on my TV, and with which toys I played when I was a kid. My favorite shows were The A-Team, The Mighty Mutant Teenage Ninja Turtles and Small Wonder. “Cowabunga dude”, “Care Bear Stare”, these are the catch phrases from the cartoons I watched growing up in the eighties. Some of my toys were action figures, some were homemade as I grew up in South America.

I was a strange girl, I really don’t remember playing with Barbie’s, until we came back to the United States. I did have one doll, a bald headed Cabbage Patch who I named Joanna. And I faintly remember a Glo-Worm. I do remember playing with action figures, GI Joes and Ninja Turtles, to be exact. I’m not sure why I played with those instead of dolls, or how I got them, as I said earlier I was a strange kid.

Even when I was a kid, I knew I wanted to write. I used to take the boxes that had held my parent’s TV, and type writer (yes typewriter!), make a mini computer with the pictures on them, and pretend to write. I also had a lot of the Golden Books, a Spirograph, a Lego’s set, and a Mr. Potaoto Head. There was also a big purple ball that I could sit on, hold on to the handles, and bounce, I can not remember what the ball was called. There was this one thing I used to play with. It was yellow, had handlebars, and two wheels. What was that called? Ah yes, a bicycle.

There was also a game that the girls play in South America, with of all things, panty hose. They would take their moms old, holy hose, and cut it up into strips, then tie it together to make a circle. Then one girl would stand inside the hose at each end, and a girl in middle would jump and do certain steps. Sort of like jump rope, if you tied two or three ropes together.

So those are the games and toys that I remember most. I do hope my memories brought a smile to your face. Why don’t you let me know what toys you played with while you were growing up? What TV shows will you always remember? What childhood memory will you never live down? Please do share!

Blessings, Peace, and Success!

Helen Heard

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Family, Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memories Are Made Of This/Back In The Day

  1. Well written, thanks for sharing this with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

