Why I'm So Nose-y

200390363-001

Hello,

Some people have super sensitive senses (try saying that three times fast). Some can see very well, some have excellent hearing, as for me…. I have a super sense of smell. Cue the super hero music now.

I can take a piece of clothing that has been given to a family member, and tell them who’s house it came from, and who it might have belonged to. I can walk into a house, and tell you what has been cooked there, and get into a used car, and tell you if the previous owner smoked. It’s just a God given talent, I guess.

The nose is a wonderful thing. It can warn you of danger, keep you out of certain situations, be poked into someone else’s business, and in some cases bring back memories. Take the strongest memories that come back to me, all through the power of smell.

I buy Palmolive dish soap liquid simply because it reminds me, of when we were buying our first home in our little town. I was thirteen, and in love with that house. It was a great, two story, white house built in 1903, with a nice big porch out front. When we first bought it, it was falling down, and needed a lot of TLC. We worked on that house for a long time, but the first few days, when we had nothing else in the house, we had that dish soap. We used it to wash our hands with and clean with, but its fragrance is stuck in my head forever.

The smell of musty books is also ingrained in my memory. Any time I walk into a thrift store, or antique store, I can smell that aroma.  The scent of books that have been around for years, some even several decades before I was even born. I first remember that smell in the attic of that old white house, when we came across several shelves and boxes full of old books. Now any time I walk into a place that sells antique books, I go back.

Well those are just a few of my nose-y stories. What scents take you back? The smell of your mom’s brownies? Your grandmother’s quilt? Your dad’s cologne? Next time you catch a scent of something familiar, just stop and take it in. Just breathe, and drink in the memory.

See You Around The Bend,

Peace!

Helen Heard

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Family, Musings, Weird Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I'm So Nose-y

  1. Mama Kat says:

    Mmmmm…the smell of Jergen’s Almond Cherry scented lotion reminds me of my Mom. She used to put it on every night before getting us ready for bed.

    Like

  2. hheard says:

    Thanks for the comment! My mom’s scent was Charlie cologne. Whenever she would go on trips when I was younger, I would go into her closet and find one of her sweaters to smell that scent. Lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

