Learning To Let Go While I'm Trying To Hang On

LettingGoButterfly

Hi There,

Okay, so as long as we are being honest here, I must admit–I am a stubborn control freak. I have a certain way that I like to do things, and good luck getting me to change my ways. That is one point (of many), that God really has to work in me on.

I have been sick for a few days, and have been made to rest and not do things, has challenging to say the least. Yesterday, my aunt Mearl watched my little nephew Hayden (age 19 months), because of my virus thing I have going on. She and my dad let him do things that I never would have, like turning the vacuum on and off, spitting out his food, etc..

You don’t know how many times I wanted to interject and say, that’s not what I’d let him do (I did on a few things), but over all, I tried to keep out of it.Also, my mom had asked my dad to do a little bit of housework, so I wouldn’t do it and I would rest. My dad of course being a guy, doesn’t clean like I would. I stopped him from vacuuming the hallway’s hardwood floor, and other such things.

But you know what? Hayden survived! The house didn’t fall over! Everything was okay, even without my input. So maybe just maybe, God is trying to show me, that I don’t need to control the universe. Maybe I should just trust Him to do that job instead. I think He knew what He was getting into when He made me, and for that I am truly grateful! I’m grateful that He loves me, control freakness, stubbornness, and all. Thank You Jesus, for Your love.

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in Let It Go and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

