What Else Can We Do, But Pray?

mourning_cover_flag_half_staff

Hello,

It is with a heavy heart that I am writing to you, my friends. All this afternoon, I have been getting, as I’m sure all of you have, updates on the shooting at Ft. Hood.  The base is located around an hour and a half drive from where I live, sometimes we see their helicopters flying over our house. I remember feeling this way on September 11, 2001. That feeling of what can we do ? The violence came here, it came home.

There is only one thing I can think of to do, friends and that is to pray.  Pray for the wounded, the families of the victims and the gunman. Pray for our troops protection, both at home and abroad. Because apparently, sometimes there is no safe haven here on earth.

For me, this hit especially hard today. I just reconnected with my cousin Josh, who is serving our country in Afghanistan. He recently got married, and became the daddy of a three year old, and now has a baby on the way. Then I read about the death of another soldier who was killed in Afghanistan, and was only 24. His funeral will be held tomorrow, and it really hits home, because his family (The McNabbs) lives in a neighboring town.

And now this? As I said before friends, all we can do is pray. Governor Perry has asked that all flags be flown at half staff to day in response to the shooting, and I am flying my virtual flag. Tragedies like this remind us to love our families more, pray for our country often, and always be ready to wake up in Jesus’ arms.

Peace!

Helen Heard

About Helen Heard

Hi!! Come on in, take the comfy chair, have a Diet Coke. Let's talk about Jesus, writing, music, family, and which M&Ms are the best (peanut of course)!
This entry was posted in America, Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

